Pie is awesome. Even though I spent what seemed like and eternity in the car driving across the state of Tennessee yesterday (East-west... the REALLY long way), I found that two things helped to pass the time. The first was listening to the Steelers and Chiefs game. The second was the knowledge that I had a whole untouched pumpkin pie waiting in my refrigerator.
Pumpkin Pie with whipped cream. Mmmmmmm!
So, I arrived at my home after a grueling 9 hour drive (traffic was horrible and it rained the entire way). I made a bee-line for the pie. No whipped cream or whipped topping though. Oh well... no big deal. I grabbed THE WHOLE PIE and started eating it. I then started thinking to myself, "What if someone else wants a piece of my pie?" Well, maybe it wasn't ALL my pie. Maybe I should share some of it. I did make the pie, though. It IS my pie and I should be able to eat it all if I want. I found myself going back and forth between eating the pie and sharing it with others. So I offered up some of my pie to those who did not have pie. I made sure that they got some pie but that I still had some left. It WAS my pie after all. What I found was that I did not have as much pie left as I wanted. What to do? I wanted more pie, but I didn't have any, and this was the only pie in the house. How could I possibly get more pie? Obviously I had to go back to the people that I gave the pie to and steal back the pie. I didn't want to do it, but there was NO MORE PIE!!!
Then an amazing, outrageous, totally off-the-wall thought came to me. What if I... MADE MORE PIE?! What if I went out and bought the ingredients and made more pie? But wait a minute... I can't do that. There is only so much pie in this world and if I go and make more pie, I must be taking pie away from someone else. But I'm not stealing the pie... I'm MAKING the pie. If I made TWO pies, I could give one to the rest of the family and keep one for myself. Maybe I could make enough pies that I could exchange the pies for more ingredients to make even MORE pies!!! I could get people to help me make the pies and give them some pie in return! I could even increase the size of the pies! That way, a "piece" of the pie would have more pie in it!
But a lot of people are telling me that when I eat a piece of the pie, it is because I am greedy and don't want to give any pie to anyone else and that there must be a governing body that takes my excess pie and gives it to people who don't know how to make their own pie. But how can I make enough pie to give to people to teach them how to make pies if I have to give most of my pie to those people BEFORE they know how to make pies? It almost seems like I would just get more pie if I stopped making the pies and instead got pie from other people instead. I mean, why work for the pie when the pie is just going to be given to me?
Whew! I'm just glad our country doesn't work that way!
Here's how some people spent their Thanksgiving. Classic!
No comments:
Post a Comment