Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Link of the Day 11/30/11

Ann Coulter was on MSNBC this morning (I don't know what show, I really don't care) and she was censored for several seconds. Apparently she used the term, "douchebag" when referring to John McCain. She later came back and said that did not use the word "douchebag", she used the word "dickweed"

Ann, Ann, Ann. Are you really defending yourself by saying that "dickweed" is a better word than "douchebag"?

I don't understand why Ms. Coulter feels she needs to use this kind of sophomoric language to express her point -- perhaps it because she's on MSNBC and she is trying to play to that audience, I don't know. This is not the first time she's used crude language in getting a point across. Maybe it's because she going for the "shock factor" and she wants the headlines.

Ann Coulter is obviously a very intelligent person and can hold her own in a debate. I've read her book, "Treason" and it was a very well written and informative read, but it really irritates me that she has to stoop to this level, especially when she supposedly represents "my side".

I'm just trying to be consistent here people. I'm going to call it as I see it. She can say whatever she wants... I don't care. However, she is one person. You can say you are against conservatism because you don't believe in conservative values, and I'm fine with that. But to say that you are against conservative values because Ann Coulter is an idiot is, well, idiotic itself. It would be like me saying, "I don't like liberals because I hate Joe Biden."

So, I guess what I'm trying to say is that Ann Coulter is not one of my favorite people right now, but that hasn't for a second made me reevaluate my conservative stance.

Here's her "explanation":

Monday, November 28, 2011

Thanksgiving and Pie

Pie is awesome. Even though I spent what seemed like and eternity in the car driving across the state of Tennessee yesterday (East-west... the REALLY long way), I found that two things helped to pass the time. The first was listening to the Steelers and Chiefs game. The second was the knowledge that I had a whole untouched pumpkin pie waiting in my refrigerator.

Pumpkin Pie with whipped cream. Mmmmmmm!

So, I arrived at my home after a grueling 9 hour drive (traffic was horrible and it rained the entire way). I made a bee-line for the pie. No whipped cream or whipped topping though. Oh well... no big deal. I grabbed THE WHOLE PIE and started eating it. I then started thinking to myself, "What if someone else wants a piece of my pie?" Well, maybe it wasn't ALL my pie. Maybe I should share some of it. I did make the pie, though. It IS my pie and I should be able to eat it all if I want. I found myself going back and forth between eating the pie and sharing it with others. So I offered up some of my pie to those who did not have pie. I made sure that they got some pie but that I still had some left. It WAS my pie after all. What I found was that I did not have as much pie left as I wanted. What to do? I wanted more pie, but I didn't have any, and this was the only pie in the house. How could I possibly get more pie? Obviously I had to go back to the people that I gave the pie to and steal back the pie. I didn't want to do it, but there was NO MORE PIE!!!

Then an amazing, outrageous, totally off-the-wall thought came to me. What if I... MADE MORE PIE?! What if I went out and bought the ingredients and made more pie? But wait a minute... I can't do that. There is only so much pie in this world and if I go and make more pie, I must be taking pie away from someone else. But I'm not stealing the pie... I'm MAKING the pie. If I made TWO pies, I could give one to the rest of the family and keep one for myself. Maybe I could make enough pies that I could exchange the pies for more ingredients to make even MORE pies!!! I could get people to help me make the pies and give them some pie in return! I could even increase the size of the pies! That way, a "piece" of the pie would have more pie in it!

But a lot of people are telling me that when I eat a piece of the pie, it is because I am greedy and don't want to give any pie to anyone else and that there must be a governing body that takes my excess pie and gives it to people who don't know how to make their own pie. But how can I make enough pie to give to people to teach them how to make pies if I have to give most of my pie to those people BEFORE they know how to make pies? It almost seems like I would just get more pie if I stopped making the pies and instead got pie from other people instead. I mean, why work for the pie when the pie is just going to be given to me?

Whew! I'm just glad our country doesn't work that way!



Here's how some people spent their Thanksgiving. Classic!

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Thanksgiving and Capitalism

Ahhhh, Thanksgiving is finally here! The centerpiece of our feast this year, as it is every year, is a nice 22 pound turkey. This fine creature assumed room temperature no doubt a few weeks ago when its life was taken by a turkey farmer. It was then frozen solid for transport and sale at my local grocery store where fate brought us together. I slowly brought it back to about 35 degrees over the span of a few days in my refrigerator. It is now sitting in a salty/sugary/icy brine in a cooler on my kitchen floor. At some point tomorrow, it will reach approximately 165 degrees. My family and I will then act on our carnivorous instincts and devour the bird, not putting any of it to waste (except for the head and feet and other entrails it didn't come with but are no doubt being enjoyed in the form of a "turkey frank" somewhere). Football, sleeping and packing for a weekend trip to Gattlinburg, TN will follow.

Now that I've given you a nice visual on how my family will celebrate the holiday, let's take a look at everyone who will benefit in some way, no matter how miniscule, by our family's feast:

Turkey:
Turkey Farmer
Employees of Turkey Farmer
Turkey Farmer's vendors (feed suppliers, fuel suppliers, machinery suppliers, etc.)

Brine Ingredients:
Makers of Morton Salt, their employees and vendors
Makers of Domino Sugar, their employees and venors
City of Southaven, MS, their employees and vendors (water)

Producers of the sweet potatoes, their employees and vendors
Producers of the green beans, their employees and vendors
Makers of the french fried onions, their employees and vendors
Makers of Campbell's Cream of Mushroom Soup, their employees and vendors
Makers of Ore Ida Hash Browns, their employees and vendors
Makers of Daisy Sour Cream, their employees and vendors
Makers of the generic corn flakes we bought, their employees and vendors
Producers of my stalk of celery, their employees and vendors
Producers of the cranberries for cranberry sauce, their employees and vendors
Makers of the Brown and Serve rolls, their employees and vendors
Makers of the onions that went in various dishes, their employees and vendors
Producers of the corn meal and eggs that go into the cornbread dressing, their employees and vendors

All employees and vendors of the grocery stores where I bought these items
All employees of the gas station where I bought gas to power my vehicle in which I rode to the stores.

... and many, many more people (antacid manufacturers, for example).

All of this thanks to what is left of the FREE MARKET! Enjoy it while it lasts!

Dirtbags of the day 11/23/11

Other people running this story are calling this a "flash mob". I'm calling it a pack of thieves. I really don't know how we combat this, but we must. I hope the police go through the video tape and throw the book at each and every one of these thugs.

I'm not a gun person -- not because I'm anti-gun or anti-2nd amendment, but because I just never have been really heavily into guns. That being said, I am now seriously considering a gun purchase along with a permit to carry it concealed. Our personal property and personal safety is being threatened and we have the right to protect ourselves.

Enjoy the madness:



Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Link of the Day 11/22/11

A small tribute to my favorite politician who called himself a "Democrat" and whose time on this earth was cut short 48 years ago today. Watch the attached videos and then ask yourself how this Democrat compares to the Democrat that currently resides at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue.



Monday, November 21, 2011

Link of the Day 11/21/11

I had a hard time choosing the featured story since there are so many out there, so I figured I'd share something that many of you may not have seen. I sympathize with this family, despite the fact they are Cowboys fans:

Homeowners Sued for Political Sign: MyFoxDFW.com

Sunday, November 20, 2011

Sunday Night Editorial -- Communism, Part 1 of 10

I going to try to reserve Sunday nights for a little Op/Ed. As always, comments and dissenting opinions are always welcome.

Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels wrote the "Communist Manifesto" in 1848. This is viewed as one of the most important political writings of all time. In this manuscript, Marx and Engels outline a plan to rid the world of capitalism and replace it with an economic classless system known as "Communism". This is not to be confused with "Socialism" which is a working class led society.

Most of us were witnesses to the fall of the Soviet empire. The images of people celebrating in the streets and dancing on top of the Berlin Wall as it was being demolished by throngs of East Germans finally freed from their Communist shackles is a very strong memory for me. It was an indictment of the Communist way of life -- that it had failed in its endeavor of world domination and in its ability to produce a prosperous economy.

There are those who say, "On paper, Communism is the perfect society -- from each according to their means to each according to their needs. It just hasn't been done right yet". To that, I say that human nature does not allow us to live in a Socialist or Communist environment and that a non-totalitarian Communist society without massive human rights atrocities being committed is unattainable.

The push towards Socialism continues on, however. Don't believe me? Think that I'm a few fries short of a Happy Meal? That I'm saying that the sky is falling? That's fine, I envy you.  Ignorance is bliss. Marx and Engels outlined 10 demands near the end of their publication. These 10 things must be attained in order to push a society over the Communist cliff... to the point of no return. Each Sunday I will outline one of these demands and discuss where we are on the road to reaching it. If you like Socialism or Communism, this will be a very optimistic series of posts for you. If you like the Free Market society... well... grab the Prozac.

Demand #1:  Abolition of property in land and application of all rents of land to public purposes.

The next time you get your mortgage statement (if you still have one), look and see who you are sending your money to.  It will say something like, "First Bank of Anywhere, LLC" or something harmless sounding like that.  What you don't see is who actually backs about 90 percent of the mortgages in this country -- Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.  These are two companies who are backed by our federal government.  They were created as part of FDR's New Deal to act as private companies that would help insure and supplement private mortgages.  They have grown into full government-run entities.  Until recently, they traded as publicly held corporation on the New York Stock Exchange.  Now they don't.  Due to the recent mortgage crisis, they acquired security in enough mortgages that they now hold 90 percent of the secondary mortgages in this country.  So, chances are that your mortgage is one that is held by one of these two entities.  Here is a very informative link that tells you how to determine if your loan is Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac:

http://www.ehow.com/how_5972159_do-fannie-mae-freddy-mac_.html


"So what", you say.  "Big deal".  Well, government, in general has historically not given back anything it has taken.  Remember all those promises like "We will repeal the extra .5% sales tax once the bridges and roads are completed"?   30 years later, you're probably still paying it.  So, don't expect that your home loan will be any different.  So how does this relate to demand number 1?  Your house and the land on which it sits, if you had a mortgage loan on it,  are now property of the federal government.  When the big banks failed and TARP came in to the rescue, all the property held by those private banks became government property.


Don't expect these these to happen overnight.  We will be "nudged" into the right way of thinking by our government a la Obama regulatory czar, Cass Sunstein,




So, yes. We still retain a lot of our private property rights, but little by little, the government will find kinks in the armor and seize what they can. These seizures are usually during moments of "crisis", claiming that a company that is about to fail is "Too big to fail" (remember GM?). Former White House Cheif of Staff put it best:



Eventually, it will be too late, and the concept of private property will be a thing of the past, and thus demand number 1 will be met.

Friday, November 18, 2011

Link of the Day 11/18/11

Today's video shows children being harassed and followed on their way to school in Lower Manhattan. Chilling stuff:



It looks like some people are starting to get fed up with the human debris littering the streets of New York and other cities. I'm fine with peaceful assembly and protest. I don't care if you get a permit to occupy a park and throw your little temper tantrum claiming you "represent" the 99%. Whatever. However, when you start terrorizing children, following them into the school, you've crossed another of the several lines you've already crossed.

There is some hope... finally some resistance to these people:

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Link of the Day 11/17/11

One of the things I hope to do with this blog is provide information that the network news, Jon Stewart or Saturday Night Live won't cover (Yes, some people actually view SNL as a legitimate news source).  I'll give you my thoughts but will gladly listen to other opinions.

The first story I'm featuring, in my opinion. exposes a sector of our society that is unfortunately growing in numbers and enthusiasm.  No matter what religion you are, even if you have none, this should appall you:



What I find encouraging about this story is the resolve and determination of these people.  There is pure evil at work here, but good will always prevail.  My heart and prayers go out to the people in these communities.  Stay strong. Maintain your faith.

People, you need to dive deeper into this story and gather whatever information you can that is NOT being reported.  Notice the writing on the walls?  Someone took their time with this.  It wasn't just a quick ransacking.  They took the time to use two colors and make it very legible for a purpose.  Phrases like, "Prepare for the Worst" and "No one is coming back 4 you (sic)" suggest a more sinister source than your typical teenagers up to no good.

Please, PLEASE don't shrug this off.  We need to shed more light on these instances.

This post, like all of my others plus the video files will be downloaded and stored at a secure location. 

An awakening

I've always been a conservative.  Well, since college at least.  You can say that I had an awakening at that point in time in my life.  I was spoon-fed the liberal news on a daily basis until then and I gobbled it all up and wiped my mouth with an eco-friendly napkin.  I truly thought that hairspray was going to destroy the earth, the oil wells would run dry by the year 2000 and that Ronald Regan was a bumbling idiot.

Then something happened.  I decided to open my mind to alternative sources of information.  At that point in time it meant Rush Limbaugh and the National Review, because that was really the only source of  conservative viewpoints.  Initially I found myself just sitting there with my mouth hanging open, wondering, "How can this guy get away with saying this stuff?"  Eventually, thankfully, I came to accept the truths of the conservative point of view. 

Then came the Bush administration.   I would be lying to you if I told you that I wasn't an enthusiastic supporter of President Bush.  I was caught up in the whole "Republican vs. Democrat" thing.  I chose to turn a blind eye towards the fact that he was a "moderate" conservative at best.  I voted for him twice. During Bush's second term, I had an awakening of sorts.  I came to realize that his policies were not much different than those of the Democrats on the other side of the isle.  I saw the line of ideology between Republican and Democrat blurred.  It was at that point in time that the term "moderate" because very stylish.  My party decided that it would be in their best interest to choose the most "moderate" candidate possible (an extreme oxymoron).  I had to vote for McCain that year just because I didn't want to have an advocate for Socialism as my president.  That didn't work out too well.

This brings us to present day.  I would call myself a proud Tea Party member.  I am a conservative... still.  I am uninterested in party based politics, so if you want to discuss the merits of the Republican Party vs. the Democratic Party, I'm not your man.  Both parties have been equally corrupted by political power. 

I have found myself listening to Glenn Beck over the past few years.  I'm not going to prop Glenn up as a savior to this country or say that he is the next George Washington, but I will say that he has been very instrumental in helping me to solidify my resolve.  As each of his predictions come true, I find myself shaking my head and saying, "I hope he's wrong... I PRAY that he is wrong."  He says the same thing.  Glenn is also uninterested in party affiliation.    He is no fan of Bush, McCain, or any of the Republican establishment.

I've come to embrace Mr. Beck's "E4" initiative:  Enlightenment, Education, Empowerment and Entrepreneurship.  I've been searching for a way to inject these four principles into my life, and that has led me to the purpose of this blog.  I feel that this blog will Empower me to Enlighten others while I am Educated along with my readers.  More than that, I also feel that this is a way of preserving history since I fear that our ability to gather accurate information is going to be severely compromised in the very near future.  I will use the resources that Glenn has created in helping with the preservation, but I plan to incorporate a lot of my own research and opinion as well.  Call it a time capsule if you will.  I do this for the future of my country, for my family, and for my God.

Read if you choose, ignore it if you want.  If you want to discuss civilly, I'm all ears.  All I ask is that you keep an open mind and allow yourself to break free from the shackles of party politics.