Friday, April 20, 2012

420

I'd like to take a minute and post about the date, April 20th, or "4/20" as the legalize pot crowd calls it. Let me say this first -- Smoke 'em if you got 'em. I'm fine with you doing it in the privacy of your own home as long as you are not exposing it to anyone who doesn't want to smell it or just be around it. In fact, I'm all for legalizing marijuana. I believe that if we legalize it, the unemployment problem in this country would vanish. Just imagine how many jobs would open up after all the potheads light up for days following the great emancipation of "the chronic". Thousands would call off work and thousands would be fired as a result!

Anyway, that's another rant. The topic for today deals with just how annoying the "420" crowd can be. Just like clockwork, 12:00 AM this morning, people start posting on Facebook, "Happy 420, man! Light 'em up!", as if they are part of some secret inner circle and only they and a select few other "cool" people know what "420" means. I personally do know what it means and I find it ironic that so many people celebrate the "day" 4/20 when "420" has absolutely nothing to do with April 20th. I know that most of you probably know what it means too and that is why I don't find it necessary to go into explaining it. Google it.

But anyway, a message to the "420" crowd: You're making asses out of yourselves. I understand how you feel about pot, but give it a freaking rest, for chronic's sake. Jeez! We get it! You smoke pot. You engage in the ganja. You like to fire up a blunt. OK already! Quit your pissing and moaning about how "the man" is demonizing pot and actually get off of your lit asses and do something about legalizing it! Sitting around in circles and talking about how George Washington smoked weed and how the timber industry is against legalization accomplishes absolutely nothing. Get up, take a shower and write to your congressman. Try to be civil about it too. Don't get all hippy on them. Start a petition.  Donate money to pro-pot publicity groups. Yes, we know that Bob Marley is your own personal savior and that you never missed a Grateful Dead or Phish concert, but don't sit there and pretend like this is your civil right movement.  Don't even compare your struggle to those who faced fire hoses and had to sit at the "colored" table.  Marijuana is illegal as of this moment.  So, deal with it.  If you decide to break the law, then fine... do it.  You will be responsible for your actions and I won't feel sorry for you if you get caught.  Fight through the legal channels to get it legalized and I just may light one up with you.

Me?  Well, I smoked it... a bunch, and quite frankly I don't see what the big deal is... on either side.  For those who think pot is an evil drug... no, it's not.  If we're going to assign "evilness" to drugs, I would actually say that pot is less evil than alcohol.  Now, to the potheads out there who think that marijuana/hemp is the cure for all that ails society, no it's not.  I know, you can make clothes and rope and everything under the sun out of hemp, but I can make fertilizer out of my own poop... that doesn't mean that it's the best.  I know that pot is used for medicinal purposes as well.  There is a pill form of THC (the compound found in marijuana that makes it "sooooo awesome, dude!) but most doctors don't prescribe it because other drugs are much more effective than THC.  Some people swear by it... I'm fine with that -- to each their own. 

So my stance on the whole thing can be summarized like this:

"Legalize it!  So they'll shut the hell up!"

No comments:

Post a Comment