This is a news report out of Tampa that profiles a women and her 15 children. Yes, FIFTEEN children. Most of this report explains the woman's situation and how she has come to find herself living along with her kids in a single motel room.
This really makes me angry. Don't get me wrong... every life is precious and is a gift from God. I understand that. One of these kids may grow up and find a cure for cancer or something. I sincerely hope so. But... what this mother is doing is abusive. Yes, I know that the dad (or at least one of them) is in jail. Yes, she has been kicked out of her house and has to live in a cramped room, but her attitude SICKENS me.
She wants to go out and reproduce over and over again and then DEMANDS that someone be accountable for supporting her children. The only ones who should be accountable are herself and the sperm donors. My heart WEEPS for these kids.
This is a symptom of a diseased society. Is throwing more money at her and others like her with the same attitude going to solve this problem? I think that the racist, sexist, bigoted, homophobic founding father known as Ben Franklin said it best:
"I think the best way of doing good to the poor, is not making them easy in poverty, but leading or driving them out of it"
We as a society should be responsible for helping people out of poverty. But, we should not let the government make decisions on our behalf on who to help. If we were given the choice of who we wanted to help, people like this woman would find herself a whole lot worse off and perhaps, maybe, she would close her legs, stop reproducing, and actually start becoming grateful for the help she is receiving. I hate that these kids have to suffer because of the mother, but the only real solution to poverty lies in the people who are impoverished. I am willing to help in any way I can, but you have to also show some desire to climb out of the hole.
The ungratefulness starts at 2:10, but I recommend watching from the beginning.
No comments:
Post a Comment